Board of Directors

David Collie (Chair) | CEO | Electrical Safety Authority

David Collie joined the Electrical Safety Authority (ESA) as President and CEO in June of 2009.  As a member of the Board of Directors for the ESA since 2007, David has been an advocate of ESA’s long-term strategic direction and the vision to create “an Ontario free of electrical fatalities and serious injury, damage or loss.”

Dennis Edell | Managing Director | EPODE Canada

Dennis Edell is an expert in behaviour change marketing and integrated social marketing. As Ottawa chapter President of the American Marketing Association (AMA), he oversaw the establishment of North America’s first Social Marketing AMA chapter.

Leonard Griffiths | Partner | Bennett Jones LLP

Leonard Griffiths is certified by the Law Society of Upper Canada as a specialist in environmental law. Through his broad-based environmental practice, Len assists clients with corporate transactions including mergers, acquisitions, financing, environmental management systems and litigation.

Mel Hyatt | President  | Power Workers’ Union

Mel was elected as PWU President on June 21, 2017. Prior to that Mel had served for 17 years as Vice President for Sector 3, the division of the Union that consists of transmission and distribution utilities.

James A. Keech, P. Eng | CEO | Kingston Utilities

Jim Keech has been the President and CEO and a member of the Board of Directors of Utilities Kingston and Kingston Hydro Corp. since 2000. In 2009, he was appointed to the Board of Directors for the Ontario Municipal Water Association and is currently on the Board of Directors after serving as past-Chair of the Electricity Distributors Association of Ontario.

Jeffrey Lyash | President and CEO | Ontario Power Generation

Jeff Lyash was formerly the president of CB&I Power where he was responsible for a full range of engineering, procurement and construction of multi-billion dollar electrical generation projects in both domestic and international markets. He also provided operating plant services for nuclear, coal, gas, oil and renewable generation.

Prior to joining CB&I in 2013, Lyash served as Executive Vice President of Energy Supply for Duke Energy. He led engineering, maintenance and operations of the company’s 42,000-megawatt generation fleet, fuel procurement, power trading, major projects and construction, environmental programs, and health and safety programs.

Adele S. Malo | Consultant

Adèle Malo has extensive corporate and governance experience in the energy, food service, services, and utility sectors.   Most recently, she was Executive Vice President of Government and Regulatory Affairs and General Counsel for Direct Energy until her retirement in December 2012.  Prior to that she held senior positions with Ontario Power Generation, Union Gas, Oshawa Group Ltd. and Tim Horton’s.  She began her career as an associate lawyer in the tax department of Osler, Hoskin and Harcourt.

Mike Rencheck | President and CEO | Bruce Power

Over the past 30+ years, Mike has served in a number of roles and most recently was the Deputy Chief Operating Officer for AREVA overseeing its extensive Global capital portfolio of nuclear and renewable projects. Prior to this, he served as President and CEO of AREVA Inc. in North America leading its diverse nuclear services business in Canada and the United States with a workforce of about 5,000 people.

Gerry Smallegange | CEO | Burlington Hydro

As President and CEO of Burlington Hydro Inc., Gerry Smallegange oversees a utility recognized for customer service excellence and innovation. Gerry Smallegange is the founding partner and senior executive overseeing GridSmartCity, a co-operative that distils its perspectives from the viewpoints and experiences of a full spectrum of industry and utility partners.

Gaëtan Thomas | President and CEO | New Brunswick Power

Gaëtan Thomas was appointed President and CEO of New Brunswick Power in February 2010. Before this, he served as the Vice President of New Brunswick Power’s Nuclear Division, a position he held since 2005 as well as the position of Vice President of New Brunswick Power’s distribution and customer service division.

Lawrence Zimmering | President and CEO | AutoCapital Canada Inc.

Trained as an ecologist at McGill University and a regional and resource planner at University of Waterloo, Lawrence Zimmering began his 20 year career with Lavalin and then SNC-Lavalin. He was a Founder of the Environmental Division and then rose through the ranks to lead all of the company’s regional engineering operations.